If such and such hadn’t happened, then…

Today is a special day and, while the root of all things is Adam and Eve or single-celled sea substance that morphs into humans, let me skip a few billion years to thanking my two sets of grandparents: William & Harriet and William & Ella for their stunning contribution to my miracle.

Bill and Hattie had a sweet little girl. She grew up to be famous goddess historian and begat little Patrick and Patience.
Image result for baby girl

On the other side, Bill and Ella had a boy who also wound up liking history, soccer, and helped begat Patrick and Patience.
maxresdefault

Many years later, B&E sent their son to the posh school down the street. He did pretty well and later went to college. He met my mother in this general time frame. Marriage and babies happened, after which they settled in Ohio, then Upstate New York, then Paris and then, well, chaos. My parents joined the flood of divorcing couples in the 70s and our households shifted.

divorce-review-hbo-sarah-jessica-parker-1

Let’s acknowledge that splitting up sucks for everyone. But out of hardship, miracles can happen.
tequilasunrise_still

In the chaos, Patrick went to my father’s posh school. He was super-smart, had even skipped a grade, and how cool is it to live like an adult, and eat as much candy as you want? I demanded the opportunity to attend the same posh school.

lead_large

Finally! Here I am in high school! It’s awesome but, you know, adolescence is tough.

71ee6814-824f-45f2-aafa-44ca58883d2c

But I meet this guy. He makes an impression for a brief time.

15621663_1782687671990687_8355180170631616388_n

Twenty-six years pass. I get a message from an old acquaintance. Thank you, Facebook, for getting me and Sam in touch again on August 10, 2009.We are separated by 5,000 miles but fall in love anyway. He books a ticket for our first date on December 17, 2009 and he’s still here.

Happy First Date-iversary to mJust marriedy love, Sam. And thank you to my grandparents, my parents, my posh school, and Facebook for nudging us onto the path. Eternal gratitude right here.

 

6 thoughts on “If such and such hadn’t happened, then…

  1. DOLORES MONACO

    We love you, Patience, and your Sam, too. Thanks for enveloping those of us out here in the hinterlands with your love, joy and sparkling wit and intelligence. Keep those messages coming; they put a human face and heart on the big ol’ New York publishing scene.

  2. catnip07

    Patience, what a wonderful story. How neat to put your life into perspective. I am happy for you and Sam, and what you share. Love is a very precious thing. All that you said rings true for me, only in a different order, but I met my true love online in the dinosaur age of internet and we’ve been together twenty years now. Though thousands of miles separated us, true love brought us together. I suppose it’s one reason I love HEAs. Thanks for sharing your story with all of us. 🙂

Leave a Reply

