Uncategorized

Memorial Day Thank You

My husband is very into genealogy right now. Today, I too felt the desire to discover my roots, but not enough to download the Ancestry app. Instead, like a good American, I thought about family, friends and colleagues who served our country so bravely–I swear this is true. I’m humbled by their doing a job I couldn’t.

I thought about the soldiers in my family. As much as my relatives tried to enlist, our family is one with ailments that kept us away from any front lines (i.e. really bad eyesight, bad knees). They volunteered extensively, and I’m thankful that I grew up with family intact. Others haven’t been so lucky.

My father-in-law served in WW II, which makes him kind of ancient (and adorable). He hasn’t said much about it, though I imagine he was as persistent about serving as he is now about selling insurance. My uncle was in the Navy and so was his stepfather. My stepfather was in the Army and every now and then he’ll say something about it. When I went to work, I started to meet amazing women who served in the military and they’ve told me some harrowing tales.

Their experiences are out of my realm of understanding, but that doesn’t mean I can’t  thank them over and over again.

Thank you.

 

1 thought on “Memorial Day Thank You”

  1. When I was in my 20’s, I dated two different guys in their 30’s who had served in Vietnam. One, who had been a corpsman, still woke from nightmares he couldn’t talk about. It gave me a whole new respect for the weight that those who serve in war carry for the rest of their lives.
    (My immediate family also had funky physical stuff–like flat feet–that kept them out of harms way. You know, except for those who died in concentration camps, but that’s not the same thing.)

Leave a Reply

