Uncategorized

Happy New Year and New Goals!

miamisingHappy 2016! Are you ready for a better year?

I definitely am, though aside from horrific world events, my 2015 wasn’t bad. The paperback version of Romance Is My Day Job emerged in January. I got to visit Louisiana for a conference in March, then another one in my home city. Summer ended with a spectacular family reunion, two more conferences and a trip to Miami to see my adorable father-in-law and his lovely companion. My husband has a new pasta maker, which means more deliciousness on my plate. Best of all, my family is reasonably healthy and sound.

Goals for the year:

An easy one: Be a good wife.

I will push myself a little harder  and avoid bingeing on Vanderpump Rules. People who work hard go places. Then again, I have to do the right kind of work. Sometimes working harder in the usual areas slows one down in more important ones.

At the same time, I must remain anal about meeting deadlines. No amount of stress-relieving acupuncture can delete this from my hard drive. I don’t care if I have six books to edit in one month. Insanity continues in 2016!

I’ll try to stop Googling Gwen Stefani and Blake Shelton so much. I can’t seem to get enough of them.

I will write down those smart thoughts I have while editing. So many writing tips to relay. My desk is piled high with notes from various manuscripts: Stop repeating, “He knew…”.

Can I be mindful of my resolutions? Yes. I’ll also avoid using “mindful” since 2014-2015 saw a rash of mindful speech. I’m mindful of the fact that I’ll never resist coconut Rittersport. You’d have to be out of your mind to do that. I can always buy bigger clothes–as long as I get myself to a treadmill…and be mindful about it.

Finally, it’s the Year of the Monkey, which means that one should beware of flying feces. Remember 2004? I do. It was sucko-town, but I won’t let this year be a repeat. Instead, I’m ready to bob and weave, while still holding respect for my near relation, Curious and Infuriating George.

And with that, I’ll start my year.

1 thought on “Happy New Year and New Goals!”

Leave a Reply

