Romantic Life Lessons

My After Happily Ever After: Vol. I

1504209_1388883841371074_78845019_oA friend told me that I haven’t been married long enough to write about being married. He’s probably right. But a few lessons have been valuable for me on this bridal path. I blame serial dating for twenty-five years, my “little sister” complex, and an inner princess for needing my own way at all times. What a novelty that in a relationship, you have to cooperate with another person. Here are some of my marital takeaways:

  • Being kind and respectful always wins–even when he’s irritating.
  • I’m generally nice to others but very self oriented. Now, I think about little things Sam might like. On my excursions, I’ll pick him up a snack or his favorite newspaper. It goes a long way.
  • I hold grudges, but Sam caves within minutes. He never gives up on people unless they’re truly reprehensible. This shows me how silly it is to stew in self-righteous indignation. We bicker now and then, sometimes really fight, but I’m better at saying I’m sorry.
  • Five years later, everything he does still charms me–how he walks, how his hair sticks up, his obsession with his expensive toothbrush, how fussy he is in the kitchen, even the cadence of his snoring (it changes depending on what he eats and drinks). Someday, I may take this for granted. For now, I stare as much as I can.
  • You have to do things you don’t want to do. I try to gauge what’s important to him. This can be difficult because, like a guy, he shrugs his shoulders and says he doesn’t mind one way or the other. I don’t like eating in restaurants, but he does. Sometimes I suggest we dine out and his eyes light up. His joy is well worth the inconvenience of sitting in a noisy, cramped space and waiting on potentially greasy food (I can be nuts in a restaurant).
  • Men seem to have their monthly cycles, which I find fascinating. I know to stay away certain days of the month.
  • He can’t stand to be within fifty yards of the bickering Housewives. I can still watch my precious Housewives, but I wait until he’s out of the room.
  • I just assume people are there and I don’t reach out to them as much as I should. When you live with someone you love, you can’t assume. I try to check in with him a few times a day. He’s the type who loves hearing from people so I know it’s a big deal. Being with him has made me better about calling my mother, too.

I’m sure I’ll learn more over the years and some days will be more difficult than others. Most of the time, I think how lucky I am.

4 thoughts on “My After Happily Ever After: Vol. I”

  1. Now that you are married, you can toss the inner princess. Now you should have an inner queen! LOL! My husband of 23 years knows that I am the queen of the household. However, I do let him believe he’s king of the household. It’s just that the queen gets her way more often than not. It works for us!
    As for the Housewives, I love them! Well, the Beverly Hills and OC ones. I could never get into the ones of other cities. That must be how my husband feels when ANY of them come on. He is outta there! I love me some Yolanda!

    1. I’m with you all the way on everything, Real Housewife in Detroit! Sam and I both know that I’m the boss, though we don’t say it out loud (except on this blog). It’s good to be queen! Also love BH and OC–and I do sometimes binge on Atlanta. NYC, I still watch though less avidly since the Countess was on less. Also love Yolanda. She’s the peacekeeper and I feel badly for her Lyme disease issues.

Leave a Reply

