Uncategorized

Happy Martin Luther King, Jr. Day!

indexMartin Luther King, Jr. died a few months before I was born, but my parents told me about the impact of the MLK, jr, civil rights, oh, the epic 60s in general, the Vietnam War, riots in Paris, feminism, the rise of Nixon, JFK. There was a benefit to having historian parents! I still get goosebumps whenever I watch the “I have a dream speech.” It’s one of the few times when I wish I’d grown up a little earlier*.

Since it was a holiday, I vowed to take the day off…until I saw a book that need to be edited. Two of them. My husband and I bickered over the fact that I like to print out manuscripts and how much ink/paper that uses up. I compromised by transforming one of the documents into Adobe and edited using my stylus and iPad (two words I would never have used five years ago). When I’m finished, I’ll transfer changes from the Adobe version into the editing software. Is this exciting?

However you spent the day, I hope it was a good one. I ate almost a whole pint of ice cream.

*And to be around for Marilyn Monroe–I am a celebri-holic, after all…

Leave a Reply

