Uncategorized

Traveling for Love

take-off runwayMy travel phobia is pretty normal–at least that’s what I tell myself. The day before travel, I become OCD, organizing my piles, washing my hands, making lists, and packing more than I need. The crane to lift me off the couch must be operational around 11am to launch me out the door. Sam needs to pry my hands from the door frame and carry me out of the apartment building. En route to the airport, he doesn’t speak to me because I’m going through my mantras: I’m 45, for goodness sakes. Why the drama? I must do things differently. Even if I die in a plane crash, maybe I’ll pass out before I feel it. Oh wait, this isn’t a mantra. I am a confident woman. If I can fly to Paris, I can do this. It’s not even an issue. I am a serene woman.

Because I live with someone who loves to travel, I need to travel. It’s not that I don’t love to see people. Getting there fills me with all kinds of anxiety. So here I go, wanting to see relatives and hug them, and also praying for no plunging into the Hudson river thing. If this were for work or book related, I’d be on the plane with fewer shrieks of agony. Pray for me.

7 thoughts on “Traveling for Love”

  1. Patience, there is no need to suffer like this. There are several homeopathic remedies that STOP the anxiety and fear. You know where to email me if you want to know about them and where to buy them.

  2. Now Patience, you’re a wonderful confident woman, just be glad it’s not one of MY STORIES…where the heroine would most likely end up accidently locked in the bathroom when the beverage cart rolled down the aisle, the plane would go into a roll and the stuff in the toilet would get on her…You’ll be fine…my heroine, not so much.

  3. If it makes you feel any better, I don’t like to travel either. Why doesn’t someone invent that damned transporter already? (Of course if they did, we’d probably be like McCoy and worry about our atoms being scrambled.)
    I hope your travels go well!
    And hey look at you, blogging regularly! *faints*

  4. This post reminded me of the scene in French Kiss where Meg Ryan is in a plane simulator trying to get over her fear of flying. I love that movie…. And i can sympathize with you lol i get that way, OCD and all even when we take long car trips.

  5. It’s funny you should mention French Kiss, Darla, because I just watched that movie and really felt for Meg Ryan’s character. But I actually get on the plane. Long car trips make me OCD too!

Leave a Reply

