Uncategorized

What’s On Your Reading Device?

by Patience Bloom

I’m alwaysiStock_000016891929XSmall curious what other people are reading. Here’s what’s on my Kindle right this second:

Data, A Love Story by Amy Webb (adore anything having to do with online dating since I got my 8-year chip before meeting Dr. Bloom)

The Medium Next Door by Maureen Hancock (Can I help being really into psychic phenomena? Not even a tiny bit)

The Girl With the Dragon Tattoo by Stieg Larsson (I’m a little late)

Marie Antoinette by Antonia Fraser (The first celebrity I fell for when I lived in France)

The 4-Hour Workweek by Timothy Ferriss (As if! But we’ll see if I can learn something)

Sold to the Enemy by Sarah Morgan (hubba hubba)

Trouble Me by Laura Moore (This author is a sweetheart, met her at a conference, had to buy her book)

Dropped Names by Frank Langella (Can’t get enough of my celebrity gossip, this time from Dracula himself!)

A Body to Die For by Kate White (I heart suspense!)

And I can’t seem to read any of these fast enough. I’ve had several emergency projects to edit so my pleasure reading is relegated to weekends. Please share what you are reading, though proceed at your risk since we may compel each other to buy more books….

5 thoughts on “What’s On Your Reading Device?”

  1. I don’t have a reading device yet (unless you count my tablet, which in theory can be used as one, but I mostly use it to play Words with Friends).

    And I’ve been really sick with the Cold From Hell, so I’ve been rereading humorous romance, which is my mental comfort food. Lots of Lani Diane Rich (Wish You Where Here) and Jennifer Crusie (Maybe This Time).

    I’ve also been reading a really tough autobiographical book — Sweet Hell on Fire, by Sara Lunsford. I don’t normally read this kind of thing, since I use books to escape from the brutal reality of the world, but she sent me a signed copy, and I just can’t put it down. (We have a mutual friend, met at an RWA conference, and she’s a fellow TKA author.) Shocking, difficult to read, but well worth it.

    The Medium Next Door sounds interesting… (If you like psychic stuff, I should do a tarot reading for you sometime. Trust me; I’m a professional 🙂 )

    1. I’m sorry your sick, Deborah! Reading always heals me (and lots of TV). You have a great reading list. I often find that if I read stuff I wouldn’t normally read, it helps me not burn out from fiction. As for tarot, I would love a reading!

      1. Now that I am *almost* well (and just finished the Jenny Crusie book) I can start on the batch of new books I just got (ignoring the teetering pile of older TBR books): C.E. Murphy’s Mountain Echoes (urban fantasy, the 8th in an amazing series), Kim Harrison’s Ever After (another fab urban fantasy series) and Heather Long’s The Fortunate Buddha (romantic suspense). Which to start with…gah, I can’t decide!

        I hope you’re reading something fun too. *wink wink nod nod* And as for the tarot, any time! (As soon as I’m done hacking. Nobody likes a hacking psychic.)

  2. I don’t have a portable reading device but I did recently download a Kindle for PC’s for my laptop when I realized how many free ebooks were out there. Then I realized I could get them instantly, didn’t have to leave my chair, and didn’t have to find a place for them in my over crowded house. Yippee!! Liking this!

    I purchased a few of the new Harlequin Escape books to see how they were and then a few of the regular HQ line since they were a little less expensive this way. I read “Waking Up Married” a KISS book by Mira Lyn Kelly and LOVED it! Donna Alward’s ” Hired By the Cowboy” was also a freebee and even though I’m not usually one for a story about a pregnant heroine (when it’s not the hero’s baby) I have chatted with Donna on the HQ site and will meet her at the NECRWA conference so wanted to read the book. I just got “Soldier Under Seige” by Elle Kennedy so I can check out the newest Romantic Suspense. Have been reading these for a while and love the line.

    Another one that was a freebee for only two days was “Rivet Your Readers with Deep Point of View” by J. Nelson. I’m meeting with this amazing editor in April **wink** and hope to impress her with my writing so I need to devour everything on making my ms the best it can be. This book was helpful. Now I just need to find time to finish some of the other books I have on there while still revising and editing my story. Oh, and helping my daughter plan her wedding. No stress there.

  3. You are really doing your homework, Kari–and what enjoyable homework it is! I look forward to meeting you in April. Congratulations on your daughter’s impending wedding! Wedding planning is such fun.

Leave a Reply

