Romantic Life Lessons

I’m Ashamed at How Long It’s Been…

I’ve had posts running in my head but haven’t put words to screen until now. The truth is that so much is happening in publishing right now that I’m dizzy. I come home and flop on my couch (and read a little more).  By the time I carve out a free moment, all I want is escape. But can a romance editor really ever escape?

No. Because I am obsessed with the following shows. They help me with my job. That’s my excuse and I’m sticking to it:

The Bachelorette: Emily Maynard is as cute as a bug’s ear, a heroine I can buy into, especially as a romance reader. Yes, the whole franchise is cringe-worthy, probably offensive and not that conducive to finding true love, but it’s still so dishy for me. My money is on Arie.

Dallas: I worship at the altar of J.R. Ewing and his festive eyebrows.

Most true crime and romantic suspense-focused shows I love: Bones, Snapped, Criminal Minds, Breaking Bad, Deadly Women, Scandal, and Dateline. My husband is now obsessed with The Shield. No sooner do we finish a disc than he screams for another one. I had to up our Netflix subscription just to keep up. I’m biting my nails over how to cope when we finish the series…which will be this week. Any suggestions?

Mad Men: Can’t get enough of Joan! Wouldn’t it be cool to have a series set during this time?

The Killing: Last night’s finale. Whew. The bleak nature of this show fills my heart with joy. Plus the acting is so good.

The Real Housewives of Orange County and New York City: I loathe the petty confrontations over imagined slights and the bad acting. But I do love when women come together and have fun. The shopping is awesome as well.

Ally McBeal: I’m on the season where she and Robert Downey Jr. fall in love. I have goosebumps.

In books, I just finished The Power of Habit by Charles Duhigg, which reveals the pattern of a habit and suggests how to break a bad one. I have no bad habits so this is all moot. In fact, I don’t know why I even read it. 🙂 After this, I devoured Fairytale Interrupted by RoseMarie Terenzio, personal assistant to JFK, Jr. an engrossing read. In between these, I read Fifty Shades of Grey and felt fifty shades of red creeping up my neck. I do love when people get obsessed with a book. I chose the right profession.

More pet peeves to come. Wishing I had a dime for all the heroes who rake hands through their hair!

1 thought on “I’m Ashamed at How Long It’s Been…”

  1. Have you and your husband seen the new Sherlock on BBC America? Stunningly well done. (I’m not holding out much hope for the American version coming this fall, but you never know…)

    I don’t watch reality shows at all. Unless they’re about cooking and have Gordon Ramsey in them. Master Chef, Kitchen Nightmares…the only problem is that I always end up wanting to eat something!

Leave a Reply

